Deep thoughts for Friday

by chuckofish

screen-shot-2016-02-25-at-11-58-39-am

Ah, it is Friday again. Per usual I have no big plans for the weekend. I will be working on filling my kitchen with good vibes (see here.)

Father’s Day is Sunday, so hopefully we will see the boy and daughter #3 at some point, but nothing is on the calendar yet. I guess it is time to wrap up some Old Spice!

nd.14746

Anyway, here are a few things to think about to put you in the mood for celebrating with your OM:

8dd5c30d7bd2a1282f30a253f5cb6a42

“Never half-ass two things. Whole-ass one thing.” (Ron Swanson, Parks and Recreation)

5747356-9861ca9f049860bc1b1815a9059218d5

Our own pater was not one for handing out advice. (I could have used some.) In fact, he was not one for chatting with his kids. I guess that’s a pity, but certainly not uncommon. I had Ward Cleaver and John Wayne to stand in and I am not complaining.

As far as appropriate movies for the Father’s Day weekend, I would suggest:

To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) with Gregory Peck as one of the best fathers ever,

Gregory Peck and Mary Badham in

The Bicycle Thief (1948) with Lamberto Maggiorani as a father who can’t catch a break in De Sica’s classic,

bicycle-thieves1

East of Eden (1955) with Raymond Massey and James Dean as dueling father and son,

DI-East-Of-Eden

or Rebel Without a Cause (1955) with Jim Backus and James Dean as dueling father and son,

MV5BMTMwNjMwODUzN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwMDMzMzM2._V1_SX640_SY720_

Big Jake (1971) starring John Wayne and two of his real-life sons and Christopher Mitchum (son of Robert) in pursuit of kidnappers,

0000078_88

and Life is Beautiful (1997) with Roberto Benigni as the best father ever (next to Atticus Finch) who tries to protect his son emotionally and physically from Nazis in a concentration camp.

life-is-beautiful

There are plenty more, but these are the ones that come to mind.

Have a good weekend. See you on Monday when I will be able to say, “In the immortal words of Julius Cesar, ‘I left, I did nothing, I returned.’” (Larry David)