“Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests”*

by chuckofish

How was your weekend? After a busy week at work, I was up for a down weekend.

We took the door off a bedroom doorway upstairs, so that we could fit the leather wing chair from downstairs through it. This was quite a process.

IMG_2039

We put the door back on.

IMG_2040

The OM and I went to Steak n’ Shake for lunch. The boy and daughter #3 came over for dinner.

IMG_2041

I went to a couple of estate sales. One was in our old neighborhood–a very nice old house, well-maintained (but not pretentiously so) and full of interesting stuff reflective of lives well lived. It is nice to see people’s collections and interests–even if they are not things that particularly interest me. They had a box of LP’s that was very familiar–the Kingston Trio!–and lots of books. I bought a couple of books and a plate.

The other home was in a neighborhood that was previously terra incognita to me until I started venturing out to estate sales. It is in a south county neighborhood where all the streets have names relating to General Grant and Julia Dent (Grantwood Village) so you can see how I would find it appealing. This particular house was clearly owned by someone who had probably worked at Anheuser-Busch his entire life in the brewing division and collected beer steins. They had traveled abroad and had a party basement with a full bar (with tap) that was wonderfully mid-century modern. There was absolutely nothing for me in this house, but, again, it was pleasant to be in a home where people had been happy. Somehow you can always tell.

I guess I am just a snoop at heart, but I do love to look into houses and make suppositions about the people who lived there.

We had a thunderstorm, thank heavens, and it rained for some time on Saturday afternoon. It was raining while I was talking to my DP on the phone and I saw what at first I thought was a large cat across the street at our neighbors house. Then I realized it was a fox nosing around. It  looked healthy enough, so I’m not sure why it was out and about in the  late afternoon, but it was very exciting to see.

Life goes on despite all the sound and fury in the world. It is always the little things, like seeing a fox or checking out some stranger’s beer stein collection or seeing the boy and his lovely wife, that make us the happiest. Good to remember.

Luke 9:58