I have it on good authority

by chuckofish

Friday already, you say! This sure has been a busy week at work and it flew by. And that is okay.

7a48b46342ea6322d2e6e5f05bdccd57

Abracadabra, thus we learn,
The more you create, the less you earn.
The less you earn, the more you’re given,
The less you lead, the more you’re driven,
The more destroyed, the more they feed,
The more you pay, the more they need
The more you earn, the less you keep,
And now I lay me down to sleep.
I pray the Lord my soul should take
If the tax collector hasn’t got it before I wake.

Ogden Nash (August 19, 1902 – May 19, 1971) wrote that and his birthday is today. Tonight I will toast Ogden Nash and also Blaise Pascal who died on this day in 1662. You remember, he had a religious experience on November 23, 1654, a “definitive conversion” during a vision of the crucifixion:

“From about half-past ten in the evening until about half-past twelve … FIRE … God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, the God of Jacob, and not of the philosophers and savants. Certitude. Certitude. Feeling. Joy. Peace.”

He recorded the experience on a piece of parchment, which he carried with him the rest of his life, sewn inside his coat.

Awesome.

Nowadays people make lists like this.

Have a good weekend. I have no plans.

*the illustration is by Miroslav Sasek