This and that

by chuckofish

Well, did you hear that Curtis Hanson died? This makes me sad, because he was one of the few directors who made movies that I have actually admired in the last twenty years. Seriously, there are so few. But I liked L.A. Confidential (1997), Wonder Boys (2000), In Her Shoes (2005), and Lucky You (2006). And I am a big fan of 8 Mile (2002)

8-mile-theme-song-4

which starred Eminem, who said, “Curtis Hanson believed in me and our crazy idea to make a rap battle movie set in Detroit. He basically made me into an actor for ‘8 Mile.’ I’m lucky I got to know him.”

So tonight I will toast Curtis Hanson and this weekend I will try to watch one of his movies.

In other news, while the world goes to hell in a hand-basket, my flyover town is all in a tizzy about the new “improved” mascot of the local Jesuit university.

57e1cc232bca8-image

New Billiken

Old Billiken

Old Billiken

I hear that the Billiken’s new look is a hot topic in the twitter-sphere.

screen-shot-2016-09-21-at-10-30-20-am

screen-shot-2016-09-21-at-10-35-03-am

Anyway, I found this whole kerfuffle amusing.

Meanwhile the Cards are still in the race for the wild card spot. And we have the best mascot ever.

fredbird2013cardinals

God’s grace abounds.