“It was sad when the great ship went down”

by chuckofish

Sad in more ways than one. I am feeling my age this week. A classroom full of freshman had never heard of Pete Seeger, and when I started playing them this song, several of them laughed.

It seems that banjos are goofy sounding. My reaction?

yul

But I didn’t rant, I promise.

Still, there is much to celebrate. While son #3 and his girlfriend visited this week, they put up my new dining room drapes.

img_0747

He’s quite the handyman and did a great job. It’s nice to be able to open the drapes easily and let in some light. I took this next picture on a dark, rainy morning but you’d never guess that.

img_0751Yes, there is much to be grateful for. The leaves are turning and the air is crisp and clear.

img_0734

We took these pictures out at our cabin last weekend. The reds seem extra vibrant this year.

img_0741

I love autumn, don’t you? It’s time to buy pumpkins, get out winter clothing, and start cooking again. We’re hosting coffee hour at church tomorrow, so I will need to do some baking today. What are your favorite fall baking recipes?