This and that

by chuckofish

Paddington Bear first appeared on October 13, 1958 and has been featured in more than twenty books written by Michael Bond.

paddington000002

Our pater, who was fond of bears and anything English, was a fan of Paddington.

Today is also the birthday of Leon Leonwood Bean (October 13, 1872 – February 5, 1967) the American inventor, author, outdoor enthusiast, and founder of the company L.L. Bean. I vividly remember visiting the L.L. Bean store in Freeport, Maine in 1964. I got a new pair of Blucher Moccassins, which I absolutely loved and wore all summer.

screen-shot-2013-09-21-at-12-17-26-pm

When I wore them to school, however, the original Mean Girl said, “Nice brown tie-up shoes, Katie,” and that was the last time I wore those shoes. As usual, I was ahead of my time, but in the third grade I couldn’t handle being so en avance sur la mode.

I got another pair in high school, when they were all the rage.

I went to college carrying one of these

screen-shot-2016-10-12-at-11-30-14-am

and equipped with my first pair of L.L. Bean “duck boots,” which I wore happily through my four years in New England and on and on.  (I still have them.) 229685_911_41This was before the ‘preppie” look became all the rage. Again, en avance sur la mode.  I do still think that nothing beats those boots or the “duck shoes” as rainwear for feet. (Maybe these.)

Well, my family was ahead of its time in regards to catalog shopping as well. My mother embraced this form of shopping in the 1960s, starting with the L.L. Bean catalog

l-l-bean-spring-1966-catalog-cover

and moving on to Carroll Reed and the Tog Shop. We loved looking at the catalogs together. We hardly ever bought anything, but when we did, it was pretty exciting.

Now I do all my shopping online, but that’s another story.

And just a reminder that Supernatural (Season 12) starts tonight.

screen-shot-2016-10-11-at-8-59-05-am

Not that I am that huge a fan or anything, but I do love Dean Winchester, who says things like, “We know a little about a lot of things; just enough to make us dangerous.” I can relate.