“Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you…”

by chuckofish

On Sunday our rector came the closest to giving a political sermon he has ever come. And by that I mean he quoted from The Wall Street Journal. He didn’t mention the gospel lesson which was amazingly appropriate for the Sunday before our national election day.

“But I say to you that hear, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, 28 bless those who curse you, pray for those who abuse you. 29 To him who strikes you on the cheek, offer the other also… 31 And as you wish that men would do to you, do so to them.” (Luke 6: 27-31)

I will be turning the other cheek a lot this week. Which is what I think our rector was getting at. We’re all in this together, now let’s be nice. Jesus said it better.

Meanwhile, I am reading On the Move: A Life by Oliver Sacks, the doctor and neurologist who was also a best-selling author.

28sacks-sub-blog427-v3

He wrote Awakenings, which was adapted into one of my favorite movies in 1990. Anyway, I am enjoying his autobiography immensely. It is so well-written! (I watched Awakenings on Sunday night–so good!) Remember this:

Wonderful.

The warm weather has encouraged last year’s Chrysanthemums to re-bloom,

img_2238 and the roses to keep coming.

img_2241

There’s a lesson in there somewhere for all of  us. Keep going.

“Even if I knew that tomorrow the world would go to pieces, I would still plant my apple tree.”

–Martin Luther