“And the love of God is broader Than the measure of our mind”*

by chuckofish

This was a busy weekend pour moi. I went to the rummage sale at the Episcopal Church I attended growing up. I went to a funeral at Grace, to see “Steel Magnolias” performed by the local theatre guild, and back to church on Sunday.

The boy accompanied me to the funeral because it was for a member of the church choir and he knew him from back in his choir days. (It is sometimes necessary to remind the young the importance of attending funerals. I remind myself as well.) It was sad because the deceased was relatively young (with one son still in college) but it was a lovely Rite I service and the members of two church choirs sang.

We went out to dinner after the funeral, and then the OM and I went to the theatre. You will recall that “Steel Magnolias” is a play about six southern women and it takes place in a beauty parlor in Chinquapin, Louisiana in the 1980s.

Our friend was playing Ouiser, the “Shirley MacLaine part.”

0001_bad-mood

As Ouiser says at one point: “I do not see plays, because I can nap at home for free…” I tend to agree, but I am a good friend.

I was a reader at church on Sunday. I read St. Paul and got to say: “Brothers and sisters, do not be weary in doing what is right.” And what is doing right? Well, Paul says, Do your  work quietly and earn your own living. 

I talked to my DP and she told me about this:

Amen, brother.

*Maurice Bevan (1921-2006)