“Not having any potatoes to give you, I am now going to stake you to some very valuable advice…”*

by chuckofish

I had a long week at work and a very busy Friday and Friday night, so I took it easy this weekend.

I read broadly from this collection of Damon Runyon stories,

img_2269

and enjoyed it very much if I do not say so myself. Old Runyon has a voice like no other, and the stories, which sometimes involve murder and revenge and heartbreak, are always diverting and stress-reducing in their politically-incorrect way.

I recommend it highly.

Otherwise, I puttered around the house, cleaning and straightening.

img_2263

img_2268

img_2266

And the Christmas cactus is blooming!

img_2262

All will be well.

May you be made strong with all the strength that comes from his glorious power, and may you be prepared to endure everything with patience, while joyfully giving thanks to the Father, who has enabled you to share in the inheritance of the saints in the light. He has rescued us from the power of darkness and transferred us into the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.

–Colossians 1:11

And by the way, next Sunday is Advent I! Can you believe it? Enjoy the short work week!

*The Idyll of Miss Sarah Brown by Damon Runyon