You better watch out, you better not cry…

by chuckofish

Yep, Santa is coming to town soon, and I don’t know about you, but I’m not even close to being ready. We are making progress, however. The decorations are out and the lights are up. My DH even bought new solar-powered lights to go on our cherry tree.

img_0810

Yes, Christmas is coming and the seasonal festivities are well underway. It’s going to be a busy weekend. Today, we plan to get our Christmas tree up, if not decorated, and tonight I’m going to a wine tasting party with some lady-friends. Picture me thus:

blackwhitedrinkingwineandwhistlingmaybe

Tomorrow we’ll attend our church Christmas pageant followed by a potluck lunch. A few years ago the children at church made a Christmas movie that I posted here. If you need a chuckle, it’s definitely worth another view.

After those festivities, we’re off to our cottage to do battle with a squirrel that has decided that a warm, cozy interior is preferable to his cold, snowy natural habitat. Nasty rodent! And I thought mice were bad. When I called the local pest control outfit, a bored gentleman told me that they don’t deal with squirrels after December 1st, because the trap triggers freeze and won’t work. Alarmed, I asked about other solutions, but he just declared laconically that he’d call back in the spring. Great, just great. When I asked around at work, a colleague smirked that I could learn to make squirrel stew. I know to whom I’d like to feed it.

Look at me. I started out this post full of Christmas spirit and ended up feeling like the Grinch. What can I say? That’s been the pattern lately. I guess I’m feeling more “Scrouged” and “Christmas with the Kranks” than “It’s a Wonderful Life” or “Miracle on 34th Street”. I blame it on politics. How about you?

Let’s not let the rodents get us down! After all, it’s Christmas!