“Winter is coming”*

by chuckofish

Screen Shot 2017-01-05 at 9.40.08 AM.png

We had our first snow of the season Wednesday night. Of course, the local media had everyone whipped up into a frenzy of anticipation, some schools even closing preemptively the night before.

We received half an inch or so. Most of the heavier snow slid south of our flyover region. Par for the course.

Personally, I was fine with the half inch. I have a lot to do this weekend and it doesn’t all involve staying home and wrapping things in tissue paper as I undeck the halls.

I also intend to spend some more time with the books I received this Christmas and which I have already been enjoying.

IMG_2352.JPG

I also am reading Just Kids by Patti Smith, which I bought for myself. In this National Book Award-winning memoir, Patti offers a fascinating glimpse into her life and  relationship with the controversial artist/photographer Robert Mapplethorpe in the epochal days of New York City and the Chelsea Hotel in the late sixties and seventies.

004-patti-smith-theredlist.jpg

I always kind of liked Patti Smith and now I know why. She may have been the queen of punk in her day, but she is a deep soul.

“I understood that what matters is the work: the string of words propelled by God becoming a poem, the weave of color and graphite scrawled upon the sheet that magnifies His motion. To achieve within the work a perfect balance of faith and execution. From this state of mind comes a light, life-changed.”

I highly recommend her book.

Here are some more great suggestions for reading material in 2017.

And don’t forget that today is the feast of Epiphany, which means it is time to watch 3 Godfathers (1948), John Ford’s classic film about three men on the lam with a baby in the old West.

3 godfathers 2.png

3godfathers.jpg

I think we will enjoy it even more than usual this year…

Screen Shot 2017-01-05 at 7.50.59 PM.png

Have a great weekend!

*George R.R. Martin