You’ve got spunk

by chuckofish

mary-tyler-moore-mary-tyler-moore-show-GC.jpg

Well, sadly, TV “icon” Mary Tyler Moore has died at the age of 80.

Mary was a person I could relate to. I was in the ninth grade when The Mary Tyler Moore Show debuted on television, and I can tell you, growing up in flyover-land where practically everyone in my school was a blue-eyed blonde, it was really nice to have a beautiful brown-eyed, brown-haired actress in the spotlight.

She was always meticulously groomed and chic (at least in my 9th grade opinion )–I remember looking forward to seeing what she would wear each week.

b63a6a3c5e5d5c438ade8e5c978cf0e8.jpg

But even though she always looked great, everything did not work out perfectly for Mary. No, she frequently was embarrassed and unsure of herself and sometimes people made fun of her–just like the rest of us.

Plus, Mary Richards was a person who was getting by on her own, as a working gal–an “associate producer” no less. She had ventured out of her comfort zone and often had to push herself to do something. But she got by with a little help from her friends–Rhoda, Lou, Murray et al–as we all do.

Mary-Rhoda-and-Phyllis-Mary-Tyler-Moore-Show-set.jpg

Mary Tyler Moore as Mary Richards taught me (and a lot of other girls) to have confidence. That is no small thing.

mplsmtmstatue

MTM did a lot of other things besides play Mary Richards, and she did them well, but it is for this role that I remember her most fondly. I watched four episodes of The Mary Tyler Moore Show last night and toasted Mary. More toasting and MTM on the agenda for tonight. (CBS has scheduled a tribute to Mary Tyler Moore tonight at 8 p.m. central time.)

Into paradise may the angels lead thee, Mary, and at thy coming may the martyrs receive thee, and bring thee into the holy city Jerusalem. (BCP, Burial of the Dead, Rite I)