“Visit us with thy salvation, enter every trembling heart”*

by chuckofish

While my DP was shivering in 12-degree weather in the north country, we were enjoying spring temps in flyover-land. I went to a couple of estate sales and found a watercolor of Bruton Parish church, which, as you know, is one of my favorite Episcopal churches.

Screen Shot 2017-03-05 at 6.13.04 PM.png

We visited the wee babes at the hospital, but didn’t get to see the boy who was filming a lacrosse game at the time. We had quality time with daughter #3 who brought us up to date on the twins.

Screen Shot 2017-03-05 at 1.02.24 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-03-05 at 1.02.43 PM.png

Aren’t they looking good?

On Sunday I skipped church and went to see Degas, Impressionism, and the Paris Millinery Trade, a “groundbreaking exploration of Edgar Degas’ fascination with high-fashion hats and the young women who made them,” at the St. Louis Art Museum which featured “an array of period hats and 60 paintings and pastels, including key works by Degas that have never been exhibited in the United States.”

58b05edae6f4b.image.jpgI am not a huge fan of French Impressionism, so an exhibit focusing on French woman and their hats (especially hats with dead birds on them) turned out to be not that exciting to me.

Since the OM had declined to accompany me (He had “too many things to do”–whatever), I decided to check out the rest of the museum. I was pleasantly surprised to see the re-furbished second floor of the main building.

panorama.jpgThere was actually a lot to see! The European, Asian and Ancient art displayed was impressive and I recognized a lot of “old friends” which must have been in storage for years.

myten-s-king-charles.jpg

Likewise, I enjoyed the “re-imagined” American Art galleries on the third floor.

st-louis-art-museum-11-of-29.jpg

The space for American Art has been greatly expanded and, again, includes a lot of good things. I was pleasantly surprised.

I went home where I puttered around and later that evening I went to Lenten Evensong at church which was a good way to wind up the weekend.

O Lord, support us all the day long, until the shadows lengthen, and the evening comes, and the busy world is hushed, and the fever of life is over, and our work is done. Then in thy mercy, grant us a safe lodging, and a holy rest, and peace at the last.

Now it is Monday again. Have a good week! Seize the day!

*Charles Wesley