“I can do all things through him who gives me strength.”*

by chuckofish

8053885d897724551f283c6a502823ee.jpg

“It is not work that kills men; it is worry. Work is healthy; you can hardly put more upon a man than he can bear. Worry is the rust upon the blade. It is not the revolution which destroys the machinery but the friction. Fear secretes acids; but love and trust are sweet juices.”

–Henry Ward Beecher

A toast tonight to Henry Ward Beecher, American Congregationalist clergyman, firebrand preacher, and social reformer, who died on this day 130 years ago.

Here’s an interesting story about the history of Beecher’s Brooklyn church.

23GRACEweb1-master768.jpg

Also, I just learned that the writer Nancy Willard died last month. I met her about twenty years ago when she visited my high school alma mater and I had dinner with her and drove her around in my old 240 wagon. I thought she was a very nice person, who had a lot of interesting things to say about the writing life. We were simpatico I thought. Into paradise may the angels lead you, Nancy. At your coming may the martyrs receive you, and bring you into the holy city Jerusalem.

*Philippians 4:13