Stuff

by chuckofish

Design Sponge had a story recently on 10 Family Heirlooms That Tell Stories. This got me thinking, because, of course, we have often written on the subject of liking our “old stuff,” our “heirlooms,” and the importance of telling our children stories about their families and bringing them up to appreciate their histories and, well, “old stuff.”

Clearly not everyone feels this way. But I even like other people’s old stuff and that is why I go to estate sales and like to think of myself rescuing old needlepoint pillows and even old plants. (Leave it to me to ascribe heroic intent to this activity.)

But I love my old stuff and I think my children appreciate it.

IMG_2472.JPG

IMG_2487.JPG

IMG_2475.JPG

IMG_2476.JPG

IMG_2478.JPG

IMG_2480.JPG

IMG_2481.JPG

IMG_2477.JPG

IMG_2485.JPG

IMG_2479.JPG

IMG_2486.JPG

Enjoy your home, I say. Enjoy your things. After a long, stressful day at the salt mine, isn’t it nice to come home? Yes, it is.