“Why do you seek the living among the dead?”*

by chuckofish

If you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth, for you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is your life is revealed, then you also will be revealed in glory. (Colossians 3:1-4)

I spent most of Saturday getting the house ready and cooking for Sunday. I also gabbed on the phone with my dual personality and two daughters. And I watched Ben-Hur (1959) and some of the special features on Friday and Saturday nights. My life is just too exciting sometimes.

Sunday dawned rainy and dark–too wet for the egg hunt at church which had to be moved inside–bummer! Our service was very nice with a brass quartet (but no timpani). I was the second reader and got to read the above passage from Paul’s letter to the Colossians. I was more dressed up than usual, so I was wearing heels, and I worried that I would fall on my way up to the lectern.  I kept picturing Catherine O’Hara in Best in Show

But that drama was thankfully averted.

The boy and his wee family and his in-laws came over for brunch after church. We served Episcopal souffle and fruit salad and croissants and mimosas…

IMG_2494.JPG

–the perfect brunch in my book!

It’s always nice to get out the silver and the crystal, isn’t it? I didn’t use my fine china because it didn’t look right with my tablecloth. But the old Wedgwood worked fine.

The wee babes were adorable and as entertaining as always.

IMG_2970.JPG.jpeg

The little bud shows the OM his right hook.

IMG_2969.JPG.jpeg

IMG_1042.jpg

Also, I should have noted last Friday, that besides it being Good Friday, it was also daughter #2’s birthday!  I think she had a nice day.

Screen Shot 2017-04-16 at 5.00.09 PM.png

…and I did manage to send a birthday package to her which got there in time for her birthday!susie.jpeg

The plates are the same, and she hasn’t changed so very much either!

Have a good Monday!

*Luke 24:5