We die to sin and live to God*

temple-gate Betha Lum 1912.jpg

Oh brother. It rained all weekend. All weekend. Lots of flooding in flyover-land and many cancelations. The March of Dimes Walk for Babies, which I had planned to walk in on daughter #3’s team, was canceled.

There were a ton of good estate sales, but going estate sale-ing in the rain is not a lot of fun. I went to a few, but headed home after a while empty-handed.

It was definitely a weekend for puttering and I did quite a lot of that. I also read a lot of The Shadow of the Wind, which I finished. I can’t really recommend it. I guess I don’t like novels that have that consciously storybook/fairy tale quality where the author seems to be trying way too hard to convey a feeling. Oy. This book takes place in Barcelona before, during and after the Spanish Civil War, but you learn nothing about the history, only that a lot of bad things happened. The characters are too¬†wrapped up in their own love story–which is childish–to care¬†that anything is going on around them.

Meanwhile, daughters #1 and 2 were together in D.C. where #2’s friends from home had congregated to celebrate her bachelorette weekend. This is something new that modern bachelorettes do.

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.18.36 PM.png

Daughter #1 sent me the goodie bag that she, as Maid of Honor, gave to the other girls. She organized a party on the rooftop patio of one of her old friends–very cool–and they went to a winery. Luckily it didn’t rain on their parade.

I went to church and listening to the constant rain on our big roof

grace-episcopal-churc01.jpg

just made me want to go home and crawl back into bed. Well, I had to get ready for the boy and his wee brood who came over for dinner that evening.

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.29.06 PM.png

Thankfully, these wee babes can cheer up even the dreariest of weekends! Enjoy your Monday!

*From the Pascha nostrum, Episcopal Church; the painting at the top is by Betha Lum, 1912.