“Twas in the merry month of May when green buds all were swelling”*

by chuckofish

I am so sick of rain! But I am cautiously optimistic about the weekend.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 11.23.37 AM.png

Dare we hope for a little sun?

I hope so, because it will be a relatively busy weekend. Tonight we have the annual Print Fair and preview party at the St. Louis Mercantile Library, which is right up my alley, as you can imagine. What could be better than strolling around, wine in hand, checking out “thirty local and national fine print and rare book dealers presenting a broad array of exceptional materials?” Last year I even won something at the silent auction.

IMG_2523.JPG

Then there’s a book fair at our local library and a few estate sales to go to. And I’ve got to get my house ready for daughters #1 and 2 who arrive next week for another quick visit–the wee babes are getting baptized next weekend! Nate, the fiancé, is coming too, so we’ll have a full house.

May is whizzing by, isn’t it?

Have a good weekend and let’s hope we can sing Here Comes the Sun. I tried to find a Youtube video of this song, but I guess there is an issue with Beatles songs. I have always liked this song, ever since I went to a concert my sophomore year at Smith College featuring a lot of acapella groups from other Ivy League schools. The Williams College Ephlats sang Here Comes the Sun. The soloist was a very cute guy with long blond hair. When I arrived as an exchange student at Williams the following year, this same guy literally climbed in my first floor dorm window on my first day. I took that for a good omen.

Enjoy your weekend!

*Barbara Allen, traditional Scottish ballad