Jesus, give the weary Calm and sweet repose

by chuckofish

It’s Friday already! I had a busy week and it zoomed by (which is usually the way, right?)

Anyway, I am ready for the weekend. We have been experiencing beautiful weather all week which I have not really been able to enjoy. Sometimes I sit on the patio after work, just to get outside for awhile. Of course, it’s supposed to get hot this weekend.

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 2.17.34 PM.png

C’est la vie.

IMG_1259.jpg

Hopefully I’ll get to see the wee babes.

IMG_1365.jpg

The wee babes wearing “peanut butter and jelly” onesies that some well-meaning friend made for them…zut alors! oh, the indignity…

Meanwhile I’ll toast my BFF, who has always been my sister and Dual Personality, because I guess yesterday was National BFF Day! Where do they come up with these things?

Sisters.jpg

Well, I never need an excuse to toast my DP…or to toast!

Now the day is over,
Night is drawing nigh,
Shadows of the evening
Steal across the sky.

Now the darkness gathers,
Stars begin to peep,
Birds, and beasts and flowers
Soon will be asleep.

Jesus, give the weary
Calm and sweet repose;
With Thy tenderest blessing
May mine eyelids close.

Grant to little children
Visions bright of Thee;
Guard the sailors tossing
On the deep, blue sea.

Comfort those who suffer,
Watching late in pain;
Those who plan some evil
From their sin restrain.

Through the long night watches
May Thine angels spread
Their white wings above me,
Watching round my bed.

When the morning wakens,
Then may I arise
Pure, and fresh, and sinless
In Thy holy eyes.

Glory to the Father,
Glory to the Son,
And to Thee, blest Spirit,
While all ages run.

–Sabine Baring-Gould

 Have a good weekend!