‘Just the place for a Snark! I have said it twice: That alone should encourage the crew…

by chuckofish

Just the place for a Snark! I have said it thrice:
What I tell you three times is true.’*   

I had such a busy weekend! I accomplished a few things on my to-do list, like getting my hair cut, but not a lot.

Sometimes a thing becomes a whole ‘nother thing and you have to go with the flow and adapt. This happened when the OM and I ventured once again into terra incognita for an estate sale on Saturday afternoon. I was curious to see what the pictures online suggested–a lot of antiques in a modest home in a part of town I do not know well.

It was a nice little neighborhood and the house did indeed have a lot of good stuff. Nothing, however, that I really needed or couldn’t live without at the asking price. (I am so restrained.) Anyway, we had to get on the road to a graduation party for a child of the OM’s cousin (and only living relative with whom he is still speaking) who lives in St. Charles County, so there was no time to dilly dally.

Sunday morning, though, we thought why not check back when everything would be half price? So, of course, we couldn’t pass up a real bargain of a vintage desk. And, of course, it was too big for either of our cars, so we texted daughter #3 to see if we could borrow her SUV. Long story (kind of) short, we then drove to their house to pick up the SUV and back down to south STL, loaded up the desk, drove back to our house, unloaded the desk, and returned the SUV to daughter #3, and (finally) drove home.

Then we had to get ready for our Father’s Day barbecue that evening. The boy then helped us carry the desk up the steep garage steps into our house.

Do other people do this sort of thing?

IMG_2694.JPG

I didn’t get a lot done on my to-do list, but I did get a vintage desk and we drove all over the place in the process. It’s all about the hunt, right?

IMG_2683.JPG

Cousin Joshua approves.

*Lewis Carroll