“In the tempests of life, on its wide heaving sea, thou blest Rock of Ages, I’m hiding in thee”*

by chuckofish

How was your weekend? It was blazing hot here (well, not that hot) but at least there were no damaging storms to wreck havoc and make a big mess.

On Friday, the boy brought the twins over for a visit. Lottie complained about being hot…

while the wee laddie got busy emptying out the garage.

After a couple of hours, we did go inside where we ate some pretzels and cooled off.

Daughter #1 drove home that late afternoon after a busy week in JC for some downtime in our flyover town. On Saturday we were very successful at an estate sale and I bought a classic Forshaw wrought iron table and chairs for our patio. I have been on the lookout for a nice set for a couple of years, so I was very pleased. And what a bargain! The boy picked them up on Sunday morning before he opened his store and we went to church. How nice to have a son with a truck who so cheerfully pitches in!

Later on Sunday the boy came back for tacos with the wee babes. (Daughter #3 was getting ready for the first day of school today.)

Lottie still balked at playing outside, but Aunt Mary was there this time to make it all okay.

Fun times.

But it occurred to me the other day that I was way behind in pre-Christmas planning/present stockpiling. For some reason, I feel very unmotivated this year. I’m not sure why. Uncertainty about the world order? Feeling anxious about the end times? Wondering what God is requiring of me today?

When as the grass the wicked grow,

when sinners flourish here below,

then is there endless ruin nigh,

but you, O  Lord, are throned on high;

Your foes shall fall before your might, the wicked shall be put to flight.

Hymn #635

Yes, I remind myself constantly, our Lord is throned on high.

Cheer up, Christian! Things are not left to chance: no blind fate rules the world. God hath purposes, and those purposes are fulfilled. God hath plans, and those plans are wise, and never can be dislocated.

Charles Spurgeon

*William O. Cushing, 1876