On a wing and a prayer

Screen Shot 2019-01-21 at 6.34.26 PM.png

Recently I received the Williams College alumniĀ  magazine, the one that just has all the class notes. I admit, I look at the obits first. I like to read about the old guys, class of 1939 and on…the WWII vets.

This one caught my eye:

Screen Shot 2019-01-18 at 11.02.34 AM.png

Imagine being a decorated dive bomber pilot in the war, coming home and settling in to a career in advertising! Talk about switching gears. Plus, I remember Wrestling at the Chase! We thought it was hilarious. Well, it sounds like he had a good longĀ life, 100 years wittily re-writing song lyrics and all.

So did this guy, class of 1948:

Screen Shot 2019-01-18 at 11.56.19 AM.png

How great is it that he became a volunteer deputy sheriff in NC after retiring?. Also, he was from Worcester. I wonder if my mother knew him?

I love these WWII veterans–truly we will not see their like again. They worked hard, they supported their church and civic groups and charities…They had lived through the war–as dive bomber pilots–and had learned something. They had lost friends and knew they were lucky to be alive.

Maybe they knew what life is really all about: “He enjoyed a good burger, a good book, a glass of wine and a fire in the fireplace.” (A member of the class of 1950 recalled about a classmate.)

Let’s all take a moment.

Into paradise may the angels lead thee and at thy coming may the martyrs receive thee, and bring thee into the holy city Jerusalem. (BCP, Burial of the Dead, Rite I)