Constituents of a chaos.

by chuckofish

Daughter #1 here. I can report that our dear Dual Personality is doing quite well. She is in good spirits, less pain than anticipated, and thoroughly engrossed in Season 1 of the OC, which is honestly the best medicine. As for me, in between responding to calls of Marge! Hey Marge!, I’ve been preparing for this summer’s hottest social event, the 200th Birthday of Herman Melville, by reading Moby Dick. Light reading for difficult times, I know.

“There you stand, lost in the infinite series of the sea, with nothing ruffled but the waves. The tranced ship indolently rolls; the drowsy trade winds blow; everything resolves you into langour.”

As happens when you’re reading something really good and that really sucks you in, my mind is always kind of lingering in that infinite sea. This is to say, I’ve got whaling on the brain.

The other activity occupying my time is stitching. I’m currently working on this classic Prairie Schooler sampler. I am stuck on the large ship and can’t wait to finish so I can move on to something fun like the mermaid or the WHALE.

Screen Shot 2019-05-21 at 1.56.27 PM

Of course, in the stitching world, one is always thinking about what to stitch next.  So, naturally, I’ve been looking at other samplers with whales in them. See some examples below:

Screen Shot 2019-05-21 at 1.33.13 PM

Riley Harbor

Screen Shot 2019-05-21 at 1.29.05 PM

Oh Whale!

Screen Shot 2019-05-21 at 2.00.25 PM

Nantucket Sewing Kit

Screen Shot 2019-05-21 at 2.07.51 PM

Old Nantucket

There are lots to choose from–but mostly I’m glad to be a landlubber!

“For as the secrets of the currents in the seas have never yet been divulged, even to the most erudite research; so the hidden ways of the Sperm Whale when beneath the surface remain, in great part, unaccountable to his pursuers; and from time to time have originated the most curious and contradictory speculations regarding them, especially concerning the mystic modes whereby, after sounding to a great depth, he transports himself with such vast swiftness to the most widely distant points.”