Small world department

by chuckofish

Screen Shot 2019-01-18 at 9.19.21 AM.png

This made me laugh.

The boy and daughter #1 are training to run in a half marathon in April. I salute them. I would be happy to be able to walk a half marathon, but it ain’t gonna happen. (My achilles tendons have not recovered as it is from my trip to Israel.) Well, I ride my stationery bike every morning for half an hour–the best I can do–while listening to my favorite Calvinists discuss scripture on Youtube. The half hour flies by!

One result of this foray into the evangelical world is that I discovered what became of a girl who was in the class above me at school growing up. I happened to be reading about Wheaton College in Illinois one day when I found out that one of its Presidents had the same last name as this girl.  I recalled that she (and her older sister) went to Wheaton. (Wheaton was not a college many people from my school went to, so I remembered.) They were a very religious family and their lovely daughters were always impeccably groomed and conservatively dressed. (Remember: this was the 1970s!) They were not concerned with being cool like the rest of us, but went about their business in a focused and serious way. Hmmm, I thought, I wonder if her grandfather had been the President? As it turned out, he was. (The libraries at both Wheaton College and Covenant Theological Seminary bear his name.)

This girl went on with her education and received a PhD in English literature from Vanderbilt. She is now an author and speaker who has taught literature, directed women’s Bible studies, and “loves working with women in studying the Scriptures.” She directed The Gospel Coalition’s women’s initiatives from 2010 to 2017. She is not just riding her stationery bike and listening to panels with the likes of R.C. Sproul and John Piper. She is on the panel with them!

It is a small world, n’est-ce pas? You can read one of her articles here.

Have a good day!